BOROUGH COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES MONDAY, JANUARY 6, 2020 7:10 PM COUNCIL CHAMBERS

CALL TO ORDER: This meeting was called to order at 7:10 PM by President Joseph A. Pompa.

PRESENT: A quorum was present including members of Council as follows: Joseph A. Pompa; Brady Leahey; Michele Baker; Sean Burke; James Mielnik; Joyce Lowe; and Richard A. Scholton. Others in attendance: Borough Manager Jim Gehret; Borough Secretary Patricia J. Duron; Borough Solicitor Nathan Karn; Mayor Joseph R. Dodson; Chief Rodney B. Estep, Jr.; and Building Code Official Gerald Harbison, and Director of Community Relations & Events Katrina Pope.

MINUTES: The minutes dated December 12, 2019 were presented for approval. A motion was made by Mr. Burke to approve the minutes, and was then seconded by Mr. Scholton. The president asked for a vote and the motion carried in a vote of seven votes to zero votes.

MANAGER'S REPORT: Mr. Gehret welcomed the new council members.

MONTHLY FINANCIAL REPORT: Mr. Gehret's advised that no financial report will be available until after the audit.

PLANNING AND ZONING REPORT: Mr. Harbison reported on a meeting with Bill Callahan of the PHMC. He directed Council to a memo from him regarding the reassessment of the current Historic District Ordinance and the restructuring of the HARB and the HPC. He advised that there is a grant available for the work to be done to update the ordinance. There was consensus of Council to proceed with the grant process.

<u>DIRECTOR OF COMMUNITY RELATIONS AND EVENTS:</u> Ms. Pope advised that she is in the planning stages of the upcoming 2020 Borough events.

FIRE MARSHAL: Dave Zeek was not in attendance.

MAYOR'S REPORT: Mayor announced that the police department was the recipient of the AAA Platinum Award for Safety.

PUBLIC COMMENT:

• Eric Schmidt, 1303 Pine Street: Commented about the fire siren.

OPEN AGENDA:

• <u>Sean Burke:</u> Wants to discuss the comprehensive plan update and the restructuring of the HARB and the HPC.

RESOLUTION NO. 2020-1, CONSENT AGENDA: Mr. Pompa asked for Council's consideration of Resolution No. 2020-1 for bill list number 1 totaling \$256,338.35. A motion was

made by Mr. Burke and was seconded by Mr. Leahey to approve Resolution No.2020-1, approving payment of Bill List number 1. A vote was taken with the motion carrying, seven votes to zero votes.

RESOLUTION NO. 2020-1 A RESOLUTION APPROVING CONSENT AGENDA

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the Borough of Hollidaysburg, Blair County, Pennsylvania, that:

1) **Bill List No. 1** dated January 6, 2020 authorizes payment of expenses totaling \$256,338.35 consisting of accounts payable and owing the Borough of Hollidaysburg from duly appropriated moneys is hereby approved.

DULY adopted by the Council of the Borough of Hollidaysburg this 6th day of January, 2020.

Joseph A. Pompa, President

ATTEST:

Patricia J. Duron, Secretary

APPROVE THE HIRE OF POLICE DETECTIVE: Chief Estep requested that Council consider the promotion of the most qualified candidate for police detective following the interview process. A motion was made by Mr. Leahey to approve that request. Mrs. Lowe seconded the motion. President Pompa asked for a vote. The motion passed, seven votes to zero votes.

APPROVE THE HIRE OF POLICE OFICER FROM THE ELIGIBILITY LIST: A motion was made by Mr. Scholton to approve the hire of the best candidate from the eligibility list. Mr. Mielnik seconded the motion. President Pompa called for a vote. The motion passed in a vote f seven votes in favor or zero not in favor.

RESOLUTION NO. 2020-2 APPROVING THE BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS APPOINTMENTS AND REAPPOINTMENTS: A motion was made by Mr. Burke to approve Resolution No. 2020-2. Mr. Scholton seconded the motion and President Pompa asked for a vote. The motion was passed, seven votes in favor to zero votes against.

RESOLUTION NO. 2020-2 APPOINTMENTS TO BOARDS & COMMISSIONS

BE IT RESOLVED by the Council of the Borough of Hollidaysburg, Blair County, Pennsylvania, that the following appointments of various boards, commissions and officers for the

Patricia J. Duron, Secretary

Borough of Hollidaysburg are approved:

BOARD/COMMISSION			TERM EXPIRES	
Borough Authority	James Fitch	5 years	12-31-24	
Sewer Authority	<u>James Burke</u>	5 years	12-31-24	
Zoning Hearing Board	Larry Daugherty	3 years	12-31-22	
Shade Tree Commission	Joshua Chestney	5 years	12-31-24	
Civil Service Commission (Alternate)	Ann M. Andrews Jeffrey J. Ketner	6 years	12-31-25 12-31-20	
Planning Commission	<u>Joseph Stanek</u>	4 years	12-31-23	
Intermunicipal Relations	<u>James Gehret</u> <u>Brady Leahey</u>	1 year 1 year	12-31-20 12-31-20	
HARB	<u>Donald Delozier</u> <u>Dave Macharola (architect)</u>	3 years 3 years	12-31-22 12-31-22	
НРС	<u>Dave Macharola (architect)</u> <u>Katrina Pope</u> <u>Gerald Harbison</u> <u>Joshua Patt</u>	3 years 3 years 3 years 3 years	12-31-20 12-31-22 12-31-22 12-31-22	
Police Pension Committee (Council Member)	Richard A. Scholton	1 year	12-31-20	
Vacancy Board	Joseph Patterson	1 year	12-31-20	
DULY adopted by the Council of the Borough of Hollidaysburg this 6 th day of January, 2020.				
ATTEST:		Joseph A. Pom	apa, President	

APPROVE THE AUDITOR FOR 2020: Mr. Scholton made a motion to approve Young, Oakes & Brown Co. as the 2020 auditors for the Borough. Ms. Baker seconded the motion. President Pompa asked for a vote and the motion passed, seven votes to zero votes.

APPROVE THE STIFFLER MCGRAW ASSOCIATES (SMA) ENGINEERING SERVICES 2020 AGREEMENT: A motion was made by Mrs. Lowe to approve the 2020 SMA Engineering Services Agreement and was seconded by Mr. Leahey. President Pompa asked for a vote. The vote was taken and the motion carried, seven votes to zero votes.

APPROVE THE FINANCIAL INSTITUTION FOR 2020: A motion was made by Mr.Burke to appoint the First National Bank as the depository for the Borough for the year 2020. The motion was seconded by Mr. Mielnik and President Pompa called for a vote. The motion carried, seven votes to zero votes.

APPOINT THE BOROUGH SOLICITOR FOR 2020: A motion was made to appoint Nathan W. Karn, Sr., Evey Black; as the Borough Solicitor for the year 2020 by Mrs. Lowe. Mr. Scholton seconded the motion. President Pompa called for a vote and the motion was passed, seven votes to zero votes.

BLAIR COUNTY GOVERNMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBERS: A motion to appoint Mrs. Lowe to the Blair County Government Advisory Committee was made by Mr. Leahey. Mr. Burke seconded the motion. President Pompa called for a vote. The motion passed, seven votes to zero votes. Mr. Leahey made a motion that Mr. Gehret should serve as the alternate. Mr. Burke seconded the motion. This motion passed, seven votes to zero votes.

BLAIR REGIONAL CODE ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE: A motion was made by Mr. Scholton to appoint Gerald Harbison as the representative on this committee for 2020. Mrs. Lowe seconded the motion and President Pompa called for a vote. The vote was taken with the motion passing, seven votes to zero votes.

ADJOURN:	President Pompa adjourned the meeting at	7:25 PM.
Patricia J. Du	ron, Secretary	